Frangipani Flower Myth

Have you ever seen Frangipani flower?

In Indonesia, folks call this frangipani flower as Kamboja of Jepun flower. It is a tropical flower that mostly have white flower with yellow in the center. Commonly used in the beauty shop or spa due to the sheer beauty and sweet scent.  As i have ever seen, each Frangipani flower could have a different number of petals. Sometimes you might find flower with 4, 5, 6 petals but mostly is 5 petals (odd number).

Indonesian people have a lot of myth. One of the is a myth about this flower. You know, if each flower has different petals. If you can find a frangipani flower with 4 or 6 petals (even number), you are lucky. Why?

There is no scientific reason. Just because we (indonesian or for specifically Javanese) believe,”if you find that flower and put in the book, your dream will come true or something good will be happen in your life.”

Someone believe, “if you put that flower in your purse , you will have more money in your wallet.”

It sound silly, doesn’t it?  But i do believe that story since i was child.

And then, accidentally, when i was playing in the backyard last morning, i found this flower. I just shocked and felt happy at that time. That was my first time in my life, i find that flower. Not in Indonesia, but in Perth, Australia (just temporary living here). After that i put that flower in my purse then i moved to inside of the book. Hopefully, i will have very good luck.

Just in one day after i got that flower, something good happened to me. First, i got a call from job agency saying that he can give me a job in Kununura, WA. But i didn’t take that because i have already booking flight from Perth to Cairns. Second, my friends from Netherlands that i just met coincidentally invited me in her house. She asked me to teach her how to cook Nasi Goreng (famous Indonesian food). We did cook that food and have very nice chat, and guess what? I figure out, previously she lived in Cairns. She helps me to find a job. I am wondering and thinking…

Is this lucky because of finding Frangipani flower that have 4 petals?

I am not sure actually. Just keep making a good suggestion in your thought.

You can believe on that myth if you want. ^^

Frangipani Flower
Frangipani Flower

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑